LTE in Canada No longer with 4.2.2?

mhinc

Dec 27, 2012
Visit site
I currently have an S3, and I am grabbing a Nexus 4 today, I have been reading that since the upgrade to 4.2.2, LTE can no longer be accessed, yet the phone has LTE hardware?
I am a bit confused on all this, and every article I have read is stating "We are not sure if this is the case in Canada"
So my question is, is there anyone in Canada, even better on Telus using a Nexus 4 after upgrading to 4.2.2. and still getting LTE?
I welcome anyone to elaborate on this, and why google would limit the LTE use period?

Thanks

Bratigan

Dec 10, 2012
Visit site
I'm not an expert but my understanding is that LTE was disabled with 4.2.2. There is a way to fix this though and it requires flashing the 4.2.1
radio into the 4.2.2 ROM. I don't know how to do this exactly but I posted somewhere for help and I hope someone answered my inquiry. Hope this helps.

mhinc

Dec 27, 2012
Visit site
I'm not an expert but my understanding is that LTE was disabled with 4.2.2. There is a way to fix this though and it requires flashing the 4.2.1
radio into the 4.2.2 ROM. I don't know how to do this exactly but I posted somewhere for help and I hope someone answered my inquiry. Hope this helps.

TY for the reply. It angers me that they have the hardware, but they disable it? Why on earth would google do that?

sledge007

Apr 10, 2011
Visit site
http://www.droid-life.com/2013/02/1...one-vs-nexus-4-vs-droid-dna-vs-galaxy-note-2/

According to this spec comparison sheet, the Nexus 4 isn't supposed to have LTE anyway. Correct me if I'm wrong, but from what I understand (from asking some people I know that have one), this was an exploit?

I posed the question in a Google group of mine, these were a couple of responses....whether they are accurate or not, I cannot verify, but these are coming from owners.