Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By N4Newbie
  1. Thread Author  Thread Author    #1  

Default Group SMS instead of MMS?

Is there such a thing?

Reason I ask is because I do group messages daily and the stock group MMS is not working well for me. I keep getting delayed MMSs and it sometimes doesnt even send from my end. Total nightmare. I called LG, Google, and AT&T and none of them have a clue. I've tried Go SMS Pro that didnt really fix the issue.

SMS work perfectly. Is there a third party app that can Group SMS? If not, I guess I will ditch this phone and wait for the S4
  2. Thread Author  Thread Author    #2  

Default Re: Group SMS instead of MMS?

Anyone?

I'm not an expert. From what I've read you can use a third party apps like Handcent to send group SMS, but the replies will not be threaded unless you use MMS.

Sent from my Nexus 4 on Solavei
    Ask me about Solavei.
  4. Thread Author  Thread Author    #4  

Ok. Thats kind of what I thought. That stinks

There is no such thing as "group SMS".

SMS, by definition, is limited to a single recipient and limited in both total size (message plus overhead) and message size. Absolutely nothing and no one can change these parameters. SMS messages are delivered quickly because they are carried as part of the same small housekeeping traffic which is constantly being exchanged between your handset and nearby cell towers. See

Any app which claims to do things like group SMS or expanded message size is really using some technology other than SMS; either MMS or some other data-centric mode.
    mdandashly likes this.

Android 4.2 allows you to do that thread style group messaging that iPhone's can do; works flawlessly for me. Could be a carrier issue?

The threaded group messaging works for me on 4.2 but sometimes certains people in the group's messages come through on their own message.

Quote Originally Posted by TheLibertarian View Post