Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By gusar2000
  1. Thread Author  Thread Author    #1  

Default Camera app

One of the only things I dislike about my Nexus 4 is the grainy camera results. I have been hunting around for a camera app which might improve this experience and wondered if anyone had walked the same path and could recommend an app that offers improvement?

Posted via Android Central App

Default Re: Camera app

Grainy is usually the result of too high resolution at too low light level. You night try adjusting some settings.

Having said that, you might also try Camera FX Zoom. Search the play store.

ROM
    CM10

I'm no photography expert. But I've always thought grainy photos was a result of the camera racheting up the ISO due to insufficient lighting (rather than the resolution being too high).

To minimize graininess, shoot at a lower ISO. The downside is, you'll get very dark photos if there's not enough lighting.

It's possible to shoot at a low ISO in low-light conditions and still get good photos. But you'll need to shoot at a slower shutter speed. The downside is, you'll get blurry photos if the subject is moving or if there's any movement of the camera itself.

You'll need to find a 3rd party camera app that allows you to toy with ISO and shutter speed settings.

The absolute easiest way to get good photos would be to shoot in good lighting conditions. Camera Zoom FX doesn't let you adjust shutter speeds but I prefer it over the stock cam app.

Another highly regarded camera app (which I have not used myself) is called Shot Control.

Just got my n4 two weeks ago and it is terrific except the camera. Solved that by using my wife's i5 to take pictures. Best solution.

Sent from my Nexus 4 using AC Forums mobile app

Quote Originally Posted by mochaed View Post
    Just got my n4 two weeks ago and it is terrific except the camera. Solved that by using my wife's i5 to take pictures. Best solution.

Sent from my Nexus 4 using AC Forums mobile app