Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By ohyeahar
  1. Thread Author  Thread Author    #1  

Global Posts
    92 Global Posts

Default Windows Phone user interested in Nexus 4: Some questions

Hi guys.

As the title says, I am currently using a Lumia 920 and have been on the windows phone ecosystem for the last 2 years (since the lumia 800). While I am happy with WP, for sometime I have been contemplating getting a Nexus 4. Considering that I have never used android before and that the Nexus will be my primary phone for both personal use and work, there are certain queries in my mind that I need help with. Here goes:

1. Push email - I use an outlook.com id for personal use and Microsoft Exchange services for work. Both are set to push mail on my current phone and I'll prefer to have them configured the same on the nexus. So what options do I have? Does the stock mail client support push notifications? If not, what other service can i use? (I will prefer not to forward my outlook.com mails to a gmail account, as some people might suggest. I already have 4 gmail accounts forwarding mails to outlook.com)

2. Offline navigation - I am a heavy user of navigation and maps. Personally I find Nokia mapping services to be the best experience that I have come across. The best thing is fully offline maps. I understand that google maps allows you to cache certain parts of the map offline. How does this compare with a completely offline option like that of Nokia's and what options do i have for offline navigation, searching, etc. (While I have no problems in streaming maps on the go, data connection and speeds are a grey area and fluctuate constantly between Edge and 3G.)

3. Android is prone to viruses - This is something that I have only heard from others. How serious is this threat?