1. Thread Author  Thread Author    #1  

Global Posts
    187 Global Posts

Default nexus 5 + carrier question

Ok, this may be dumb but I am little confused about the different carriers and the Nexus 5. I am also new to Android as I currently use a Lumia 920 phone.

I know you can buy it from the Play store for $350/399. I see post such as the BestBuy that has the phone for $799 off contract, as well as other similar post. If you are not buying with a discounted on contract price, why would you buy it from any other place then? Why not just buy it from the Play Store?

I have AT&T with an LTE unlimited contract. I was planning on buying one next month from the Play store, swap out SIM or goto AT&T store and buy a new SIM and be done. Should not be any other cost to me to change.

Am I missing something as to why these other retailers are charging so much more for the phone that what the actually price is? I know greed will play little into it, but $800 compared to $350 is beyond that. I just want to make sure I am not missing something and what I plan on doing will work.

Thanks all.

Default Re: nexus 5 + carrier question

If you want one next month, then you should buy it today. They are already 2-4 weeks back ordered. That number should only climb higher.

Posted via Android Central App
    Problem solved, problem staying solved!
  4. Thread Author  Thread Author    #4  

Global Posts
    187 Global Posts

Understand prepaid plans and all. I am not changing my AT&T since my contract is not up till next Nov. however, I do want to change my phone.

Global Posts
    460 Global Posts

Quote Originally Posted by Vaas View Post
    Ok, this may be dumb but I am little confused about the different carriers and the Nexus 5. I am also new to Android as I currently use a Lumia 920 phone.