Welcome to the Android Central Forums Create Your Account or Ask a Question Answers in 5 minutes - no registration required!
  1. Thread Author  Thread Author    #1  

Smile Very positive, only 2 negatives

I am loving my new Nexus 5! I have had it for about 2 days now and I have experienced a lot of positives that make me very happy with switching from my HTC One.

There are only two negatives that I can honestly report, and I believe most people will agree.

1. the first is battery life. Now the HTC One didn't have OMG EPIC battery life either, but the N5 seems to be slightly less. I know it still needs time to calibrate and the battery life will improve as I "break it in". I am a massage therapist so obviously I do not get a chance to use my phone much while at work. But I do get a 1 hr lunch break and I use my phone a lot during that time. I mostly just get on facebook and twitter, maybe listen to a few min of music, and play candy crush or some other time wasting game. Today I started my break with about 69 percent battery (only about 3 hours after a full charge) I did my usual things on my phone, and at the end of my break my battery was at 32 percent. To me that is a huge drop in just an hour of what I consider "medium use". By the time I had to charge my phone (I let it go completely dead) it had only been 8 hours since its last full charge. which is not that great. Also, the context of my usage is: I was on my work's wifi, I had screen brightness on auto, google now is enabled. Again, I know it will get better, but from my experience so far, that is one of the negatives.

2. Second negative for me is the speaker volume. I was spoiled by the HTC One's speakers even though a lot of people call it gimmicky, I actually used it. I listen to music directly from my phone while getting ready for work. (using headphones while getting ready is just a pain) But I saw that phil said that he thinks it might be a software thing, so hopefully that will be fixed.