Welcome to the Android Central Forums Create Your Account or Ask a Question Answers in 5 minutes - no registration required!
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
  1. Thread Author  Thread Author    #1  

Global Posts
    139 Global Posts

Default My Nexus 5 is sending STATUS SMS to 9216

I'm new to Android and obviously this LG Nexus 5. I'm concerned that it is sending these "STATUS" text messages on its own. If these are "Premium" texts, that could add up to significant costs. Any ideas what application or setting to look for ? Thanks.

My Nexus 5 is sending STATUS SMS to 9216-screenshot_2013-11-09-17-00-36.jpg

Global Posts
    2,560 Global Posts
    ROM
    Stock faux123

Default Re: My Nexus 5 is sending STATUS SMS to 9216

Quote Originally Posted by bbgolf View Post
    I'm new to Android and obviously this LG Nexus 5. I'm concerned that it is sending these "STATUS" text messages on its own. If these are "Premium" texts, that could add up to significant costs. Any ideas what application or setting to look for ? Thanks.

Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Screenshot_2013-11-09-17-00-36.jpg 
Views:	333 
Size:	94.1 KB 
ID:	90913
    Wow, what the hell is that phone doing?! Alright, let's see if we can figure this out. First, please force stop the message app and clear all of the data. Second, uninstall any fishy apps you might have recently downloaded. Third, run this app. That's all I can think of at the moment without more information. What carrier do you have?
  3. Thread Author  Thread Author    #3  

Global Posts
    139 Global Posts

I've force stopped Textra and cleared the data - I only installed it today as I wasn't thrilled with Hangouts. Fido is my carrier. It has not sent any sms since early this morning, strange. I will remove most of the apps I installed as they are not critical - the only one I really need is the BBM for work. After that I will run the scan from the program you reccomended. Thank you.