I'm new to Android and my Google Nexus 5, need your help please!

Carlm

Feb 14, 2014
Visit site
Hello all,

I'm new to the forum and just wanted to say hi! I've been an iPhone user for many many years and recently I got very bored and fancied a change. The Google Nexus 5 had a lot of features for the money and I'm very happy with it.

I was very particular with the way I set up my iPhone, very minimalistic! I don't like bloatware and I like to keep things simple. Especially when it comes to reducing things like notifications and other non-useful stuff which drains the battery and clutters the screen. I need some advice if you don't mind!

What are the must have apps on Android?
How can I set the phone up to save battery life?
Is there any bloatware I can remove by re-installing the OS? If so how do I do this?
How easy is it to heavily customise an Android phone?
What's the best (cheapest) wireless charger available?
Is it easy to root the phone? Have no idea of it's benefits.

I'm sure there's lots I need to learn about Android so any other tips are welcome, looking forward to your replies! :)

Last edited:

Carlm

Feb 14, 2014
Visit site
Yep, then there would be no point of having forums if someone didn't post the same questions every now and then. Especially when there's quite a few questions I'm asking. Thanks for your input though.

jj14x

Jan 9, 2011
Visit site
Yep, then there would be no point of having forums if someone didn't post the same questions every now and then. Especially when there's quite a few questions I'm asking. Thanks for your input though.
Actually, the point of forums is to make questions/answers available, so that folks can search - that's why PMs are discouraged, because those are not searchable. If the search doesn't yield results, absolutely - post the question! :)

Regardless, welcome to the Android world. I'll try to answer some of your questions