Welcome to the Android Central Forums Create Your Account or Ask a Question Answers in 5 minutes - no registration required!
Like Tree2Likes
  • 2 Post By ab2c4
  1. Thread Author  Thread Author    #1  

Default How is the Nexus 5 holding up, reliable hardware wise?

A little background info. I have been using Android phones and tablets for a few years now. I always had a company provided work cell phone (currently have the LG G3 and love it), but for the last few months my wife has been telling me I should finally have a phone of my own for several reasons. At work we use Verizon so I could never consider a Nexus 5. I have the Nexus 7 2013 and love stock Android. This weekend my wife and I decided to change her personal AT&T plan and to add a second phone for me. I already have the G3, I am currently annoyed by Samsung phones after having the S3 and Note 2 due to TouchWiz. I like the HTC One M8 but I just couldn't see spending $680 on one (I am buying the phone outright, no contract). I thought about the LG G2 since it is down to $480 but I have read many times the UI being troublesome and bloated. I really like the OnePlus One, but with it being a new company I wan't to wait and see how well they hold up.

I ended up ordering the N5 due to the fact that it still has good specs, amazing price, and because it is a Nexus device (stock android with fastest OS updates). Are there any known or common problems hardware related with the N5 that I should be aware of?

The N5 should be arriving today or tomorrow and am pretty excited. The only thing software wise that makes me nervous is how contacts and SMS/MMS will work. I have read numerous times that Hangouts is not very friendly or easy to use. I know I can try some free texting apps but I am not sure how contacts work on the N5. I know with Samsung and LG phones there is a Contacts Icon on the screen but doesn't it work differently on the N5?

Global Posts
    22,180 Global Posts
    ROM
    Liquidsmooth ROM