Root Nexus 6 on Verizon? Root on VZ?

getbretweir

Banned
Nov 27, 2012
Visit site
My Nexus 4 and S4 are up next month and one of my options is the Nexus 6. If I can get rid of any preinstalled bloat and get rid of the logo I might pay the subsidized price through VZ. I've never rooted a phone before, but it seems easy enough. Will it be just like regular stock on my N4 and would you recommend rooting if I have no experience doing so?

Posted via the Android Central App

Rukbat

Retired Moderator
Feb 12, 2012
Visit site
See [Toolkit] Wug's Nexus Root Toolkit v2.0.4 [U… | Nexus 6 | XDA Forums It looks pretty simple - just click the Root button. (I didn't read the thread, but I know that the Wug tool works - so read the thread before you root.)

Should you root? If you don't muck around in the phone, doing things you couldn't do without root, the only downside is the warranty. Root and they may not honor it even for a hardware malfunction.

Debian Dog

Feb 15, 2011
Visit site
I have had a rooted phone on Verizon since 2010. The Verizon Nexus is no different than any other carriers version.

The ease of which you can root it is exactly why I got this phone. If you use want to run ROMs and root read, read, and read some more.

Sent from my Nexus 6

wtherrell

Aug 23, 2010
Visit site
I have had a rooted phone on Verizon since 2010. The Verizon Nexus is no different than any other carriers version.

The ease of which you can root it is exactly why I got this phone. If you use want to run ROMs and root read, read, and read some more.

Sent from my Nexus 6
Also Titanium Backup can do more things with root.

tgp

Trusted Member
Nov 15, 2011
Visit site
See [Toolkit] Wug's Nexus Root Toolkit v2.0.4 [U… | Nexus 6 | XDA Forums It looks pretty simple - just click the Root button. (I didn't read the thread, but I know that the Wug tool works - so read the thread before you root.)