Android M OTA update

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mojofilter9

Jan 18, 2012
Visit site
So, I'm new to Nexus...

Wondering if the OTA happens on day 1 of Android M being released or do we still have to wait?

In other words am I going to get an update notification tomorrow?

Sent from my Nexus 6 using Tapatalk

thatguy97

Nov 18, 2013
Visit site
If the past two years are any indication we will get it within a couple days of release or you can just flash the image and not wait for the OTA

Posted from my Nexus 6/Nexus 7 2013/Surface Pro 3

Erik Johnson3

Mar 1, 2013
Visit site
Stupid question, I am getting my N6 on Tuesday. Do I need to have a active sim card or just get it over the air with WiFi.

Posted via the Android Central App

Last edited:

anon(9072051)

Sep 9, 2014
Visit site
Assuming that all N6s will be running the same build of Marshmellow, you should get the M OTA over WiFi without a SIM. The only conceivable hangup might be with T-Mobile if Google hasn't yet resolved their Band 12 issue. But it seems like that should only involve a second follow-up patch if that certification's still in limbo. At least I hope that's true since I'm on T-Mobile.

WP7Nettwerk

May 21, 2015
Visit site
I hope we will get update OTA quick. But I care about stability after update. I don't want to reset phone to factory settings.

thatguy97

Nov 18, 2013
Visit site
I hope we will get update OTA quick. But I care about stability after update. I don't want to reset phone to factory settings.

Me neither but I'm prepared to factory reset :/

Posted from my Nexus 6/Nexus 7 2013/Surface Pro 3

planoman

Aug 12, 2010
Visit site

It is a hassle but advisable to get a clean upgrade. I plan to flash it as soon as the factory image is available. Last few OTA's have taken a few weeks. Especially with a ATT SIM.

Posted via Nexus 6!

Howard Sylve

Jun 5, 2013
Visit site