Suggestions on Saving Battery

Andy847

Nov 1, 2010
Visit site
I'm new to a Nexus and I remember reading it takes a few charge cycles to get the most out of your battery. It's only the 2nd day with my N6 and I'm using it a lot, as with any new phone. I see a lot of settings that are pertaining to battery saving and not sure what exactly the best things to set them at.

1. I keep the screen brightness about 25% if that, haven't tested the phone in Daylight yet though. Ambient display turned off. Sleep after two minutes.
2. Battery Saver is turned off, but I set it at turned on automatically at 15%. It reads that it reduces devices performance if it's on and only syncs when apps are opened. Not sure if that's a good thing or bad. I'm sure Battery Saver would help though.
3. Battery Optimization not enabled either, can someone explain exactly what the difference is between that and Battery Saver?

Attached are my screenshots of the second day of use. Obviously using Numbers 2 & 3 on the list would help, but is there negatives to using them also. I do think I'm getting alright battery so far, I know I would usually end up with around 48 - 60 some % on my Note 4. Not with heavy use though.

4.jpg1.jpg
2.jpg3.jpg

MikeCorsten

Aug 24, 2013
Visit site
Am I missing something, or are these stats OK to anyone else? Using the phone a lot and 4 hours battery remaining after 7pm from 9am disconnection from the charger?

cache11

Sep 4, 2012
Visit site
It looks normal to me and will likely improve a little and 4-1/2 hours screen time certainly isn't bad. Dropping back to 1 minute for screen timeout will help a lot as well as having location set to battery saver which turns off GPS. I unplug at 6:15am and plug in around 10:30pm and usually have 20 to 25% left with on screen time 4.5 to 5 hrs. I also use the Velis Auto Brightness app since the stock one keeps the screen way too dim for me. Do you use 25% to save battery or is that the way you like it?