Headphones - Why don't any I try/buy seem to work!

paulsheff

Jan 16, 2013
Visit site
1st post, so hopefully I won't get too much critique! I'm new to Android too.

I bought a Nexus 7 the other day, love it and I really do like the functionality that Android seems to offer, however, trying to get headphones to work with an inline remote seems to just be impossible!

I have iPhone headphones, and as I do not use the tablet for calls, the microphone isn't an issue (if it works or not, I have no idea). I do want an inline remote to work for play pause as a minimum, and volume controls would be ideal. It doesn't work with my Apple ones, but I tried some HTC ones also and neither did they. Maybe i'm missing something like an app? I tries a couple and go nowhere.

Can anyone help, do I have to buy branded earphones specifically for this tablet/android?

Minkey1

Nov 21, 2012
Visit site
It's a standard 3.5mm head/earphone socket, so any set would be fine. I've used both with mine. I think the issue is you're wanting the socket to be able to receive commands and pass them to the tablet for processing. I don't know, but maybe it can't. Do the 'phones you've tried actually play sounds, it's just the extra functionality which fails?

Lisa C 525

Jan 19, 2013
Visit site
I have the same problem and I've tried both ear buds and a wireless headphone set, both of which worked on my son"s iPad. The strange thing is, the buds worked with a TV show I was watching from xfinity (I didn't try the wireless headphones) so i really dont know where the problem lies. Its quite frustrating.

ea7770

Jul 4, 2011
Visit site
I got my Dad a set of bluetooth wireless headphones from Creative for his Nexus 7 and they work great. They have volume and track controls built in and he's had no problems so far.

Gore Syrup

Jan 23, 2013
Visit site