[GUIDE] Nexus 7 - Factory Image Restore

Julian Melling

Apr 23, 2014
Visit site
Help!!! Hi, I'm a bit of a newbie and am looking for some support on a Nexus 7 2012. I did the OTA for 4.4 and then started having the boot loop issues. I followed the online guide etc to re-flashing, and upgraded to 4.4.2 (using the dodgy 4.23 bootloader image from google, now used the better version). Everything was fine for a few weeks, I then started to have reboot problems again (it usually happened with the Independent Newspaper app).

I then tried to reflash using Rootkit, Android Toolkit, manually using SDK etc to no avail.

Currently the problems are (device boots and is unlocked):
- Cannot delete apps
- Cannot factory reset using any method
- Reflash, go through all the steps - makes no difference
- Cannot relock

It is as if a previous reflash was written to a partition, and the new flashes I'm doing are going to another partition that is not booted (at this point I don't know what I'm talking about).

I've tried using different USB etc.

Any ideas out there??

Thanks, Julian

Jona1969

Jun 14, 2014
Visit site
Please help.

I am stuck trying to install factory images back on my Nexus 7 (2013 wifi)

the message I am getting is:

E:Can't mount /cache/recovery/last_install
E: failed to open last_install: Invalid argument
Finding update package...
Opening update package...
E:Cant open /tmp/update.zip
(bad)
Installation aborted

I'm trying to sideload using a Mac and the image's are :image-razorg-kot49h.zip

SysVR

Aug 4, 2014
Visit site
hellow
help.

my nexus 7 erasing userdata partition stuck.

C:\afi>fastboot oem unlock
<bootloader>Erasing userdata.....
*stuck erase*

Last edited:

Chris Hom

Jan 30, 2013
Visit site