ROM installed fine...Kernel did not

Nov 2, 2012
Visit site
I'm new to anrdoid. The Nexus 7 is my first such device. I've successfully unlocked, rooted, and installed clockwork mod recovery without any issues (thanks to the wonderful guides on this forum). I then installed Paranoid Android, and all was well. Booted and ran great. So then I installed the Motley kernel, now it goes to the Paranoid Android boot screen and goes no further. What did I do wrong, and what should I do from here?

2defmouze

Jul 9, 2011
Visit site
I'm new to anrdoid. The Nexus 7 is my first such device. I've successfully unlocked, rooted, and installed clockwork mod recovery without any issues (thanks to the wonderful guides on this forum). I then installed Paranoid Android, and all was well. Booted and ran great. So then I installed the Motley kernel, now it goes to the Paranoid Android boot screen and goes no further. What did I do wrong, and what should I do from here?

Not sure.. haven't tried that kernel and not sure how you went about flashing it. You can dirty flash the ROM over itself again for now (don't wipe anything, or wipe cache and dalvik only), and it will reload the included kernel for you. Be sure to flash the gapps again as well right after.

Also try and do all this from recovery, as in try and break the habit of using ROM Manager :)

Nov 2, 2012
Visit site
I reflashed the ROM and it's working fine for now. When I flashed the kernel I did it from within clockwork mod recovery after running the new ROM for a few a minutes. I never used ROM Manager. Maybe I'll try a different kernel and see how that acts.

a1kemist

Dec 14, 2011
Visit site
Kernel might not like PA. I never used that one, I roll with Franco.

I would read any user feedback about that kernel and make sure it's stable or compatible.

Sent from my Nexus 7 using Android Central Forums

2defmouze

Jul 9, 2011
Visit site
Kernel might not like PA. I never used that one, I roll with Franco.