Welcome to the Android Central Forums Create Your Account or Ask a Question Answers in 5 minutes - no registration required!
  1. Thread Author  Thread Author    #1  

Global Posts
    145 Global Posts

Default Using Google Wallet with N7

I signed up with Google Wallet and got the $10 sign up bonus. I plan on using it at 7-11 as they have the NFC reader. Here is my question: Can you use Google Wallet without any type of data connection? The 7-11 does not have WiFi.

Thanks

Default Re: Using Google Wallet with N7

Google Wallet works 100% without data connection - all it's doing is transmitting your card info to the reader. Next time you're on a data connection it'll update balance/transaction history, etc. There's a big misconception out there you need data and you definitely don't.

How do I know? I've been using Google Wallet daily on my Nexus since November 2011.
    Thanked by 3:

Global Posts
    300 Global Posts
    ROM
    KitKat 4.4 Stock Android

How do you have Goole Wallet on your Nexus 7?

Sent from my Nexus 7 using Android Central Forums

Global Posts
    300 Global Posts
    ROM
    KitKat 4.4 Stock Android

Never mind. Seriously. I couldn't see it before but I do now

Global Posts
    709 Global Posts
    ROM
    GNex: CM10. N7: stock

Quote Originally Posted by mobilehavoc View Post
    Google Wallet works 100% without data connection - all it's doing is transmitting your card info to the reader. Next time you're on a data connection it'll update balance/transaction history, etc. There's a big misconception out there you need data and you definitely don't.

How do I know? I've been using Google Wallet daily on my Nexus since November 2011.
    I didn't realize that, now Wallet on a tablet makes a whole lot more sense.