Loading your own media on to nexus 7

TomMCMLVIII

Feb 7, 2012
Visit site
Hi

I've been holding off buying a tablet for about 2 years, the Nexus 7 looks like it could be the device that makes me make the jump but I was wondering if I'd be able to transfer video (divx, xvid, mkv, mp4) from my desk top and watch it in full screen mode on the Nexus 7.

Also is there a work around to get Flash working on a Nexus 7 because not being in the USA I can't download TV programs from the Google Play store and I'd want to watch the BBC iplayer, Sky Go & the ITV player on it.

Thanks in advance for any help.

paulsam7

Aug 31, 2011
Visit site
I was wondering if I'd be able to transfer video (divx, xvid, mkv, mp4) from my desk top and watch it in full screen mode on the Nexus 7.

The Nexus 7 Guidebook says the supplied USB cable, when connected to either a Windows or Mac OSX computer will allow transfer of files. I'm planning on using this capability for sideloading app apk files that aren't directly downloadable.

pokingmon

Apr 16, 2012
Visit site
I think his question is specifically about supported formats and file extensions. I am also curious if anyone has an official list, as I have a lot of Xvid encoded .avi files and it would be nice if the native player could handle them. I'd like to avoid VLC until it stabilizes a bit.

dougltc

Feb 25, 2011
Visit site
I don't hear many good things about it, but I will give it a try until VLC is ready.

Do I need to get a codec pack or anything? Where can I find a list of supported formats, etc.?

There are a number of good video players for Android... I lime Mobo but its broken on the N7... practically any file format can be played by one player or another...

So take the leap!

Sent from my Nexus 7 using Android Central Forums

cohoman

Apr 16, 2011
Visit site