Like Tree2Likes
  • 1 Post By oldschool2
  • 1 Post By jrwatson
  1. Thread Author  Thread Author    #1  

Default Do I need an anti-virus program for Android?

Probably a newb question, but I am a newb so.....
    I'm wondering: Are Android devices such as the N7 vulnerable to viruses like a PC is? The anti-virus on my Win7 PC catches a virus about every 30 seconds. That's why I am wondering about the Android system since it's all over the place these days.

If you're win 7 pc does every 30 secs then I would say yes. That indicates to me that it may be your behavior in how you surf, where you surf, etc. normally I would say you don't though.
    Thanked by:

Default Re: Do I need an anti-virus program for Android?

Nope you dont need it. DONOT download apk(craked app or pirated) from external source. only install it from playstore.

Also, try downloading trusted apps and you should be fine.

Quote Originally Posted by still1 View Post
    Nope you dont need it. DONOT download apk(craked app or pirated) from external source. only install it from playstore.

Also, try downloading trusted apps and you should be fine.
    His behavior online and emails could contribute to viruses, not just apps he has to worry about.

You may not need it, but it's not going to hurt anything to have it. Peace of mind is a wonderful thing!
    NookColor running CM10.1
    Galaxy Note running RootBox
    Nexus 7 Running JellyBam v7

I use Lookout and am very pleased with it. I don't /need/ it, as I have very safe browsing and email habits, but I sure like knowing it's there just in case.

Sent from my HTC One S using Android Central Forums
    Be nice. Until it's time to not be nice. - Dalton, Road House

Yes you do, i've downloaded apps from the play store that have had viruses when scanned

On my Samsung galaxy s3 running android 4.0

Because unlike ios, i keep my apps in app drawers, and not in infinite cluttered homescreens