Like Tree11Likes
  • 3 Post By JustinMueller8810
  • 3 Post By ellykay
  • 3 Post By ellykay
  • 2 Post By MJKearney
  1. Thread Author  Thread Author    #1  

Unhappy Did I just make a huge mistake? N7 Google Play for US only?

I'm a Canadian resident visiting family in the US and I purchased a Nexus 7 today. Set it up, surfing wifi just great. Love everything about it. Tried to redeem a Google Play gift card and pop-up msg. says it is not valid in my country. (I'm still in US, but my Google account was set up in Canada). I really wanted to use my N7 for books, but the Google Wallet is for US residents with US credit cards only. I have this sick, sinking feeling that I will not be able to purchase anything for my tablet. I have a Canadian Galaxy II phone for which I have purchased apps from Google Play, but it shows a very limited selection of books - mostly reference and children's books - in the app store.
    Does anyone know if the Canadian Nexus 7 features are so different from the US that I can not make this work?
    What are my chances of returning it to the store?

Default Re: Did I just make a huge mistake? N7 Google Play for US only?

You should be well within the stores return period, but there may be a restocking fee. If so explain the situation to the store manager since they can over ride that fee. Personally I would return it, and buy another one when you go back to Canada. Better safe than sorry in this situation.
    I miss my friend Matt McQuinn he touched so many lives, and in the end gave his life to protect someone that he loved. I am proud to have known him, and of the choices he made when it mattered. You were a true hero.

"You would not fear my weapon unless your intentions were to provoke my using it"
    Thanked by:

Quote Originally Posted by ellykay View Post