How do I uninstall Chrome

entrancing1

Dec 23, 2012
Visit site
I'm a noob. How do I uninstall chrome? I am having problems downloading some PDF files and I see in other posts that Chrome can be a problem. What browser do you recommend and where can I get it?

anon(847090)

Jul 8, 2012
Visit site
I'm a noob. How do I uninstall chrome? I am having problems downloading some PDF files and I see in other posts that Chrome can be a problem. What browser do you recommend and where can I get it?
why do you want to uninstall chrome? just dont use it. download other browser and set it to default when prompted.
uninstalling system app will cause issues. far more issue than having problem downloading pdf.

and btw, pdf files download fine for me on chrome.

other browsers, dolphin or firefox.

MJKearney

Jul 31, 2012
Visit site
You can't uninstall it (unless you're rooted, I suppose) because it's built into the Android operating system. You can disable it by going into Settings > Apps > All > Chrome, and pressing Disable, though I wouldn't recommend that.

I've not had a problem downloading pdf's and opening them in 3rd party pdf readers (I use Adobe Acrobat Reader). However, it is true that the mobile version of Chrome cannot open a pdf from within the browser. I don't know of other browsers that can do this, as I've not had a need for that.

Zapflashgone

Jun 28, 2012
Visit site
Just hold it down until it flashes, then drag it to the button at the top of the display.
It disappears into the app file, not uninstalled or disabled... just gone from your app screen and you then go get a different browser in the GPlay store...

WOP_Drive

Nov 23, 2011
Visit site
Sooooo... is it okay to uninstall Chrome in favor of Chrome-Beta to free up about 40MB (have root)?

Sent from my Nexus 4 using Android Central Forums

STVEIDE

Oct 27, 2014
Visit site