Welcome to the Android Central Forums Create Your Account or Ask a Question Answers in 5 minutes - no registration required!
  1. Thread Author  Thread Author    #1  

Question Android newbie having Nexus 7 wifi authentication problems

I'm new to Android devices, so I'm hoping I'm just missing something simple ...

My Nexus 7 tablet connected just fine to my unsecured home wifi as well as to the secured wifi at a vacation home over the holidays with the supplied password. Unfortunately I have no details about that network at my disposal.

Recently I've tried to connect to a friend's Comcast cable modem wifi and to my local community theatre's secured wifi. Both are wpa/wpa2 psk secured and I've double-checked the passwords multiple times. Both don't connect. The tablet either says "authenticating" seemingly forever until I give up manually, or sometimes eventually says "authentication problem." I have forgotten and tried again numerous times with both networks. I have shut down and restarted the tablet. I don't have router/network access to these, so I'm hoping there's more things I can try with my device in order to connect.

Again, I'm moderately tech savvy, but very clueless about Android capabilities, settings, etc. So, please talk to me like I'm stupid and be as detailed as possible.

--Heidi

Default Re: Android newbie having Nexus 7 wifi authentication problems

nexus 7 dont support 5ghz. can you check if the band in those routers are now 5 ghz