Buying apps for child's nexus 7

DanRrrr

Jan 12, 2013
Visit site
Sorry for the total newbie style question. Basically my 7 year old daughter has a nexus 7 and want's an app that costs 0.69p. If I logged into her device with my Google login, would the app be there under her account? I really don't want to put my card details onto a 7 year old's Google wallet. But there really just doesn't seem to be a way to buy apps without associating payment with the user.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

thanks in advance

DanRrrr

Jan 12, 2013
Visit site
Thanks for the reply. Setting up multiple acounts on the nexus is easy enough, but it seems you get your own areas, (but I haven't bothered logging into hers with my account yet). So it looks like the apps are account specific. It seems ridiculous that google expect all their users to be carrying credit cards and only accepts payment via google wallet for the account that's looks at the app for sale. I felt a bit odd setting her up with a google account, but it's required to operate the nexus. There is no way I'm addning my card details to it though, and I bet I'm not the only one.

flacousa

Jul 25, 2012
Visit site
What you need to do is set up the tablet as you the owner.

Example:
We have to Nexus7 tablets in the house and this is how I set it up.

My Nexus 7 I'm the only user with my gmail and wallet account.

My wife's Nexus 7 has two users, me the owner with my gmail and wallet account and her as the second user with just a gmail account so she can receive her own mail, because her tablet is used at times by our two granddaughters I put a password on the play store on her tablet, all app purchases are done either using my tablet or my PC at the Google play store, once I buy an app it asks me what tablet to download, once that app is paid for I can also send it to the other tablet because it is own by the account.