1. Thread Author  Thread Author    #1  

Global Posts
    2 Global Posts

Default m4v vs wmv for playing videos on the n7

Hopefully I'm posting this in the right spot, if I'm not I apologize.

I have a few DVD's/Blu-Rays that have come with digital copies of the movie, but when I got to download them I have to select between an itunes version (an m4v file I'm guessing) and a windows version (wmv, again, guessing). Does the nexus 7 play one or the other or both? If it plays both, are they both of the same quality? I've never used digital copies before, so I'm fairly new to all this.

Thanks in advance.

Default Re: m4v vs wmv for playing videos on the n7

Quote Originally Posted by EpicBlender View Post
    Hopefully I'm posting this in the right spot, if I'm not I apologize.

I have a few DVD's/Blu-Rays that have come with digital copies of the movie, but when I got to download them I have to select between an itunes version (an m4v file I'm guessing) and a windows version (wmv, again, guessing). Does the nexus 7 play one or the other or both? If it plays both, are they both of the same quality? I've never used digital copies before, so I'm fairly new to all this.

Thanks in advance.
    there are apps that will play either of those, altho I would use the .m4v format in general unless you have some overwhelming reason to do otherwise.

MXplayer, BSplayer, DicePlayer are some well known examples that will play .m4v or .wmv (and a zillion other formats) videos.

Keep in mind that those digital copies are DRM protected, so you won't be able to simply transfer them to your N7 to watch. What I do is download the wmv version, then use Tunebite by Audials to re-record it (which is legal because of something called the analog loophole). You can re-record it into a different format--in the case of the N7, into MP4, which can be played natively. Then you can transfer that video onto your N7 and enjoy watching it. Silly, yes, but it's the only way I know of to do it legally.