Nexus 7 will not update OS

Ron Daley

Jan 27, 2013
Visit site
I'm new to Android products.

My Google Nexus 7 will not update. It's currently running 4.1.1, build JRO03S. I have tried to get the 4.1.2 and have tried stopping the Google Services Framework, etc. The update dowloads, the unit asks to restart and install. Upon restarting, I get the droid and progress bar. The progress bar stops after about a quarter. The droid "falls over" and I get the red esclamation point sign. Any ideas or suggestions? And I'm not looking to do anything that would void a warranty.

anon(161369)

Feb 6, 2011
Visit site
Are you rooted? If you were then it could be an issue with gapps not being installed properly, that has been an issue I've see with so many phones and won't be resolved until you either reset the device or return to complete stock which I would recommend whenever you update any OS version :eek:

Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk 2

Dave R Smith

Jan 28, 2013
Visit site
Hope I'm following etiquette to piggy back a question.
The Nexus 7 is a planned new (first tablet) purchase.
Reviews say:
'The Nexus 7 has been updated since release with Android 4.2'
but adverts (in UK) typically show earlier (e.g. android 4.1 jelly bean).
Questions
1) Is it easy to download update and apply it (....usually... in light of above problem).
2) Is it done as a download first - bearing in mind if connection to internet lost then would be reliant on rollback being eddective.
3) Does update to OS retain preferences/user data or 'delete user data' in process.
4) I would wsh for retailer (or supply chain) to do the update prior to sale.
To avoid above hassle if possible, can anyone reccomend a retailer that has them already updated and at competitive price (I'm likly going for 3 model).
5) I read on one review the update is required for landscape mode keyboard to work. Is this true?

..oh. I don't (yet) know what rooted means.

TIA
Dave

Ron Daley

Jan 27, 2013
Visit site