Google Contacts Won't Sync With Email or Gmail apps

Bronnyl

Jan 30, 2013
Visit site
Hi Everyone,
Hope someone can help me - I'm a relative newbie having just bought my Nexus 7 a month ago.

My problem is that while I have imported my Google contacts successfully into the People app, I can't get it to sync with either the Email or Gmail apps. So when composing an email, when I type in a few letters of a recipient's name, nothing comes up. In the People app when I touch the email address, I only get a 'copy to clipboard' option.

Any help would be appreciated - I think I've got all the settings right....

Thanks
Bron

anon(847090)

Jul 8, 2012
Visit site
settings-google-[ur email]-uncheck and check contacts. make sure to have internet first

open people app. reboot. open gmail. press refresh and try again

Bronnyl

Jan 30, 2013
Visit site
Thanks for that - didn't work though, unfortunately.
Just thinking - could this be because I have my ISP account in the Email app as well as my Gmail account?

Bron

anon(847090)

Jul 8, 2012
Visit site
Thanks for that - didn't work though, unfortunately.
Just thinking - could this be because I have my ISP account in the Email app as well as my Gmail account?

Bron
gmail app uses gmail contacts!! Your ISP email uses the contacts it has! people app(although it is synced with Google contacts) has nothing to do with gmail/ISP email contacts.
not showing contact is just weird. doesn't work that way.

B. Diddy

Senior Ambassador
Mar 9, 2012
Visit site
In the People app, check to see what account your contacts are linked with. In order for them to sync with Gmail, they need to be Google contacts. Select any contact and edit it. It should say at the top of the screen if it's a Google contact or not.