Nexus 7 (1st generation) stuck on start up

Owen Morris

Feb 17, 2014
Visit site
hoping some one can help as im new to this

my son has had a nexus 7 (1st gen) for just over a year and had no problems with this.

Today none of the apps were loading and when he restarted the tablet it wont power up correctly and stays on the start up screen (4 coloured circles)

I have tried to hard reset it but no joy

Can anyone shed any light on this??

Thanks

B. Diddy

Senior Ambassador
Mar 9, 2012
Visit site
Same problem, but that didn't work for me at all.

Welcome to Android Central! If that didn't work, you might have to do a full factory data reset from that Recovery Menu. It'll wipe all of your data, but if there's no other solution, it might at least get your device working again.

tigerhoodz06

Apr 26, 2010
Visit site
I have the exact same problem. Did the factory reset and it still gets stuck on the boot screen with the four circles

Sent from my XT1060 using AC Forums mobile app

qjuju

Jun 28, 2013
Visit site
Welcome to Android Central! If that didn't work, you might have to do a full factory data reset from that Recovery Menu. It'll wipe all of your data, but if there's no other solution, it might at least get your device working again.

Hi, I've got the same four 'merging/rotating' dots and have wiped the cache and done several full factory data resets, but nothing is working. Is there anything else I can try?

Thanks.

tigerhoodz06

Apr 26, 2010
Visit site
I wasn't able to fix it myself. I contacted asus and they had me send it to them so they could assess the problem. They fixed it for free, even though my warranty was over. Contact them.

Sent from my XT1060 using AC Forums mobile app

B. Diddy

Senior Ambassador
Mar 9, 2012
Visit site
Hi, I've got the same four 'merging/rotating' dots and have wiped the cache and done several full factory data resets, but nothing is working. Is there anything else I can try?

Thanks.