Nexus 7 demo at BestBuy

cdf3

Apr 24, 2010
Visit site
Went to my local BestBuy to test out the new Nexus 7 to see how much faster it was than my 2012 Nexus 7. I wasn't able to test it out because it was in some type of demo mode. I wasn't able to use the camera, web browser, scroll through the app drawer, etc.
Thought something was wrong with it, so I rebooted it. Still did the same though after the reboot.
Anyone come across this situation with a demo unit at BestBuy?
If so, is there a way to disable it?

Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk HD

Scott Kenyon

Apr 2, 2011
Visit site
I work in retail, so I'm familiar with this sort of thing. One of two things are going on. Either the demo is a specificity made version of the device that will only ever do demo mode (extremely rare) or it's designed to boot into demo (kiosk) mode. The only way around this is to reset the device.
You could ask a sales person if they can boot it into regular usable mode, but chances are they cannot.

Sent from my HTC One with MoDaCo.SWITCH Beta 8 using Mobile Nations mobile app

cdf3

Apr 24, 2010
Visit site
Since I was unable to demo it, does the 2013 model has Haptic Feedback when typing?

Sent from my SCH-I605 using Tapatalk 2

Steve Kesler

Jun 14, 2013
Visit site
I have seen 2 in-store demo units that seem to be locked in a demo mode. Both units kept rebooting and would not let you access any specific apps.. You could not access 'settings' or even the Chrome web browser. I suspected that the units had been powered up but never updated - or they were in some extremely limited demo mode, which was virtually non-functional.

The interesting point is, one of the units was in the Colonial Heights, VA Best Buy and the 2nd unit was in a Staples at Clifton Park, NY. So two complete different stores and locations. If it was a demo mode - it definitely keep people from buying them. They were useless.

cdf3

Apr 24, 2010
Visit site