Removing widgets from the home screens

dougocotton

Aug 10, 2013
Visit site
I'll confess that I'm new to all this -- my cell phone isn't smart and I've only had my Nexus 7 for a few days. I know my way around a PC but I've never used an Android product before. My first dumb question:

I want to remove some widgets from the home screen. The instructions say to "touch & hold, then drag (the widget) to the Remove icon at the top of the screen." There is no Remove icon at the top of the screen, at least nothing that I recognize as meaning Remove and nothing that acts like a Remove icon. There's also no trash/recycle icon. Please, how do I delete/remove unwanted widgets?

Thanks.

TraderGary

Trusted Member
Apr 12, 2012
Visit site
Drag to the top and the red delete will appear out of nowhere. Drop on the red X and it's gone.

Sent from my incredible new Nexus 7 (2013)

patruns

May 21, 2011
Visit site
Also, go into your Play Store app and in the settings uncheck the box next to auto-add widgets so you don't get more every time you download a new app.

dougocotton

Aug 10, 2013
Visit site
Thanks to all for the answers. It didn't work that way on my Nexus 7, and I'm wondering if mine just has different software. Dragging stuff to the top never made the red thing appear, as described by TraderGary and as seen in DirkBelig's video. That just never happened on my tablet. Instead I've discovered that things seem to be deleted (at least they're gone from the screen) if I hold and drag an icon, and then full-force fling it off the top of the screen, like pitching a fastball. Voooosh!

So, no complaints. And ten days in, my Nexus 7 is dollar-for-dollar the best piece of technology I've ever owned. Thanks again. :)

mchockeyvette27

Jun 15, 2011
Visit site