Kit kat and Nova launcher

brattyc

Aug 25, 2013
Visit site
Since I'm new to the alternative launcher world, will the update to Kit kat make a difference to the launcher? Will I have to disable it in order to get the 4.4 system set up? :confused:

Thanks for any help :)

Ryandroid86

May 1, 2012
Visit site
Since I'm new to the alternative launcher world, will the update to Kit kat make a difference to the launcher? Will I have to disable it in order to get the 4.4 system set up? :confused:

Thanks for any help :)

No, Launcher do not effect the OS.
You can update perfectly fine, You will just have to set nova as your default again after the update.

AzJazz

Nov 15, 2009
Visit site
brattyc - If you have Nova loaded now, when the KK update hits your device, you will get prompted for which launcher you want to use. You will also have a choice whether you want the selection to be permanent or just that one time.

Whenever a new launcher is installed (or upgraded), you will get prompted for which launcher to use as your default. Also, if you don't like your default selection, you can also change it with: Settings >> Applications, then select your launcher and then "Clear Defaults".

So, you'll always have the option to try whatever launcher you want, and your choice isn't permanent.

AzJazz

BrandonEnr7

Sep 24, 2010
Visit site
The new Kit Kat launcher is just like any other launcher you download from the app store. It is only an application so you can still choose between the two once the update is available, or you can switch to the new one. Your settings between Nova and the Kit Kat launcher won't transfer but have aesthetics have changed so you'd want to reconfigure you layouts and all that anyways.

Posted via Android Central App

brattyc

Aug 25, 2013
Visit site