Nexus and passords and email

Julia Matcham

Oct 29, 2013
Visit site
I am already in trouble. Fallen at the first hurdle. (To say nothing of the funny mains plug which had me perplexed for ten minutes ...just a little diagram would have helped! Plus turning it on which appeared not to work ...just a few tips in the box would help! (For others: the large pin pulls out into normal position and starting the beast, you have to hold the button down for longer than you would expect).
It asks me for a password but doesn't make it clear whether this is an existing password or one that one invents oneself. Is it just for security/ password for oneself?
I haven't done anything. It turned itself off while I puzzled!
Then it tries to feed me into a Google Gmail account. I had assumed I would be able to access my BT Internet account via Live Mail ??? I assumed it would be synched in some way. I am no techie as you can tell. I really don't want 2 email accounts or to change my current email address.
I have read the Guidebook looking for clues but there aren't any.
On the credit side, my Wi Fi connection is 'excellent'. That's as far as I have got. Better to get it right I thought than find out how to correct errors!

Advice would be gratefully received...I have an idea I will be a frequent visitor!
Thanks! Julia

NoraMelua

Mar 6, 2013
Visit site
I always found it unfortunate that Google refuses to include a real manual or at least a small guide with step by step instructions. Seems to me the best way to put non-techie people off!

When you start the device for the first time, it will ask you for your router's wifi password; it's usually printed on a sticker on the back of the router.

As patruns pointed out, the Gmail account is needed to connect to the Google Play Store. Of course, once you're up and running, you can use any mail address you like with the included email client.

Oh, and welcome to the forums! :)

patruns

May 21, 2011
Visit site