Welcome to the Android Central Forums Create Your Account or Ask a Question Answers in 5 minutes - no registration required!
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Like Tree3Likes
  1. Thread Author  Thread Author    #1  

Default Rooting and its risks.

Hey all, so for christmas I am getting a Nexus 7 32gb wifi (2013). I am a bit of a coder and pen tester, so I would naturally like root so I can tinker with my device, and install apps I otherwise would not be able to. Now I am new to Android and have never rooted, I wanted to know, rooting directly out of the box, am I playing with fire? Is there much risk of me bricking my tablet? Can I get it repaired if it's bricked? Any help would be appreciated.

Also is it true the nexus 7 comes charged out of the box? O.o

Global Posts
    4,864 Global Posts
    ROM
    EffortLess ROM

Default Re: Rooting and its risks.

Quote Originally Posted by Silent Infiltrator View Post
    Hey all, so for christmas I am getting a Nexus 7 32gb wifi (2013). I am a bit of a coder and pen tester, so I would naturally like root so I can tinker with my device, and install apps I otherwise would not be able to. Now I am new to Android and have never rooted, I wanted to know, rooting directly out of the box, am I playing with fire? Is there much risk of me bricking my tablet? Can I get it repaired if it's bricked? Any help would be appreciated.

Also is it true the nexus 7 comes charged out of the box? O.o
    Welcome!!

If you're new to the Android world, I would start off by watching videos and reading up on rooting the N7. The risk of bricking your device is always there and only increases if you don't know what you're doing. You can sometimes unbrick devices but when messing with something like this, that should never be an option.
    "The worst foe lies within the self....."
    Get yourself some storage with Dropbox: http://db.tt/hWGiTCa

3. Thread Author  Thread Author    #3  

Quote Originally Posted by VDub2174 View Post
    Welcome!!