Tethering

DrGonzo48

Nov 14, 2012
Visit site
First let me say I'm sure there are many other threads on this topic but in this section I checked the first four pages & didn't find one. Sorry if I'm starting a new thread unnecessarily.

Going to pick up a Nexus 7 after xmas when hopefully I can save a buck or two. I am new to tablets & not sure the best way to go. I know I don't want to pay extra for wifi in airports or submit personal info to access "free" wifi in certain businesses. I've never come close to using the 2 GB of data I pay for each month from Verizon. Going to move away from my phablet for a smaller phone in combination with the Nexus 7. So, should I:

1) Use a third party tethering app (and if so which one)? I've heard these accelerate battery drain on phones.

2) Purchase a mobile hotspot? From what I've seen it looks like with the Jetpack, for example, you still have to pay a fee to access data even without a contract. I don't want to pay Verizon twice for the same data.

3) Try a work-around for Easytether? I know Verizon customers can't access it in the Play Store but I was thinking maybe I could download it onto my girlfriends Tmobile phone & transfer it to mine using NFC.

4) Or something I haven't considered yet?

I'm what you would probably call a casual user and rooting or super technical approaches are likely not for me. Thanks in advance for any advice!

physioprof

Jun 15, 2013
Visit site
If you have a Verizon share everything plan for your phone, you can just use the Verizon hot-spot and it doesn't cost extra.

Sent from my Nexus 7 using AC Forums mobile app

DrGonzo48

Nov 14, 2012
Visit site
Bought a 32gb (2013) for $230 at Office Depot - picking it up tonight. Best deal I've seen though might have done better if I waited til next week. Anyway, I'm bumping this thread once and if no one has any helpful advice I will just let it die.

jerrykur

Sep 30, 2010
Visit site