Welcome to the Android Central Forums Create Your Account or Ask a Question Answers in 5 minutes - no registration required!
  1. Thread Author  Thread Author    #1  

Global Posts
    54 Global Posts
    ROM
    Stock

Default PIN Auto Reset itself

I know this is going to sound like a total newb post, and like user error, but I want to preface my issue with this.... I have been an Android user for about 4 years, work tech support for Sprint, and have rooted and ROM'd a few devices. I only day this to show I'm not new to Android even if my question seems like it.

OK. I PIN lock my device's and have used the same PIN code for years. Today, I go to unlock my tablet, enter my PIN and get a wrong PIN error. I tried it multiple times in case I just hit the wrong # accidentally but no luck. Despite what it seems I have NOT forgotten my PIN. Anyone else had this happen? Any ideas?

A couple other things that may help. I use the restricted profiles and I'm the main profile. My son uses a pattern lock and at the same time my PIN reset, his Pattern was set to slide. I do know how to hard reset it, but prefer not to.

Default Re: PIN Auto Reset itself

I think are set with resetting the unit. If there was a backdoor the security would be worthless.
  3. Thread Author  Thread Author    #3  

Global Posts
    54 Global Posts
    ROM
    Stock

I agree but if it really does reset on its own, then setting the PIN is also worthless.

Quote Originally Posted by ForTheGlory View Post
    I agree but if it really does reset on its own, then setting the PIN is also worthless.
    Agree. But, I have PINs on my 10 or so Android devices and have never had them reset on their own. Was you PIN something really easy like 1-2-3-4. If so, it could have violated a updated guideline. Google and other companies sometimes increases security requirements such as requiring password with different cases and non alphanumeric characters.

Quote Originally Posted by jerrykur View Post