Not all files in the Download folder are visible in Windows Explorer

MonkeyForce9

May 8, 2014
Visit site
Good morning,

I am new to Android so I may be overlooking something, but my Googling has resulted in nada. I'm usually pretty good at wording searches to find something, but not finding anything makes me concerned that this is an unusual problem or something so simple it should be obvious to me.

Anyway... I have a Nexus 7 (2013). Here's my issue:

I downloaded two files from Chrome, an apk and a zip, and they were saved in the "Download" folder.
I saved a QuickOffice xlsx file to the "Download" folder. (No other option)
I view the "Download" folder in a local File Manager and all three files are visible.
I plug in Nexus 7 to my PC via USB and view the "Download" folder in Windows Explorer. I only see the apk file. Naturally, I expected to see all of the files and feel like I should be able to.

What do I need to do to have access to all files in the "Download", and other folders for that matter?

Thanks!

NoraMelua

Mar 6, 2013
Visit site
You should be able to see the files, there is nothing obviously wrong with your setup. The only thing that comes to my mind is that MTP connections in Windows can be flaky. Try to restart your tablet while it is still connected to the PC and see if the files show up after that.

Posted via Android Central App

GSDer

Jan 30, 2011
Visit site
Welcome to the forums!
I view the "Download" folder in a local File Manager and all three files are visible.
You're sure they were all in the same directory? I thought Chrome had its own Download folder (independent of the system Download folder).

Sent from my rooted, debloated, deodexed Sinclair ZX-80 running CM -0.001 using Tapatalk

MonkeyForce9

May 8, 2014
Visit site
That worked. Thanks!

It appears that I'm going to have to restart every time to see new files though. That makes using my Nexus an impractical solution for taking notes at work. (No Wifi). Any possible long term fix?