4 nexus 7 setup help

xsprinterx

Nov 24, 2012
Visit site
Hello everyone,

Complete newbie to the android world.

For Xmas this year we have brought 4 nexus 7s.

One for me ad one each for my kids.

Clearly I don't want to be buying 4 lots of apps. What's the best way to set then up ? My kids have their own gmail accounts and will want to use all the functionality of the device as will I. Can I set them up to share my googleplay account but they have there own for everything else ?

I have searched for an answer but seem to be getting confusing results.

Best regards

Xsprinterx

B. Diddy

Senior Ambassador
Mar 9, 2012
Visit site
As far as I know, each tablet can only sync with one Google account, so if your kids want to sync their tablets with their own Google accounts, you won't be able to share apps you've purchased with them.

One possible solution would be for all tablets to be synced to your Google account, and have your kids access their own Gmail accounts using the native Email app (look for "Email" in your app list, not "Gmail"). However, this would mean that your kids would have access to your Google account.

You could consider making a new Google account for your whole family, and sync each tablet with that account. Each of you would then need to access your Gmail accounts using the native Email app.

xsprinterx

Nov 24, 2012
Visit site
Thanks for the reply, that's really poor...

Apple let's you have 1 "iTunes account" for up to 10 devices. I was really hoping the nexus would be similar. The kids will want their own google+ stuff set up so they can use messaging ect..

Does the multiple user functionality help me in anyway or have I got to face the fact ill have to buy some apps 4 times !!!

Can the nexus be synced to a pc or mac ad apps transferred that way similar to iTunes ?

MJKearney

Jul 31, 2012
Visit site