Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Like Tree1Likes
  1. Thread Author  Thread Author    #1  

Default Question about T-Mobile data speeds with the GN

Is there a big difference between 21Mbps and 42Mbps phones other than theoretical top speed? Right now, I just switched to T-Mobile and got the Galaxy S2 which gets me around 6-7Mbps around town. If I trade in and get the Nexus, will speeds be any slower or will speeds be around the same since it's only works on T-Mobile's 21Mbps HSPA network..

This is pretty weird for me, I've always been with either Verizon or Sprint, so I'm new to the whole SIM card thing and GSM networks..

Default Re: Question about using this phone on T-Mobile

There's something different, but I'm not sure what lol.

If I drop my SIM card in my SGSII, I get about 10-11M/s download speed.
    In the very same spot, I get about 7M/s with my G Nex.
    I am NOT in a 21 or 42 network, my area is only rated at 14.4.

What any of that means, I duuno. In the end, you can't tell much of a difference between them, and in fact the G Nex with Chrome seems faster on the web than the SGSII with the stock Samsung browser.
    ಠ_ಠ
    제리

ROM
    Whatever google wants...

Personally I would forgo a bit of speed for a pure android experience. But that is just me.

Quote Originally Posted by drewsg View Post
    Is there a big difference between 21Mbps and 42Mbps phones other than theoretical top speed? Right now, I just switched to T-Mobile and got the Galaxy S2 which gets me around 6-7Mbps around town. If I trade in and get the Nexus, will speeds be any slower or will speeds be around the same since it's only works on T-Mobile's 21Mbps HSPA network..

This is pretty weird for me, I've always been with either Verizon or Sprint, so I'm new to the whole SIM card thing and GSM networks..