What is the "keychain" app on my Galaxy Nexus?

Dtim56

Dec 15, 2011
Visit site
Hi folks,

I'm relatively new to Android and this is my first post here, although I'm always hanging around picking up hints/tips/info.

I have a Samsung Galaxy Nexus (GSM) and recently installed Onavo to monitor my data usage as I only have 500mb on my plan. Whilst taking a look at what apps are using most of my data I noticed that, pretty high up the list, there is a system app called "keychain" which has used 9.2MB this month.

Can anyone tell me a) what the app is and b) why it's using data? It's not really causing an issue in terms of me nearing my limit, I just have no idea what it's for. Any help is appreciated.

icebike

Apr 8, 2010
Visit site
Credentials management: login for Google services, gmail, google talk, google voice, market, etc.

Your usage seems rather high for that app. Are you sure you aren't running your Gmail as a Pop Account instead of Imap?

nbell978

Feb 1, 2011
Visit site
Hi folks,

I'm relatively new to Android and this is my first post here, although I'm always hanging around picking up hints/tips/info.

I have a Samsung Galaxy Nexus (GSM) and recently installed Onavo to monitor my data usage as I only have 500mb on my plan. Whilst taking a look at what apps are using most of my data I noticed that, pretty high up the list, there is a system app called "keychain" which has used 9.2MB this month.

Can anyone tell me a) what the app is and b) why it's using data? It's not really causing an issue in terms of me nearing my limit, I just have no idea what it's for. Any help is appreciated.

You do realize that ICS has a built in data monitor/limiter right? Settings, Data Usage

Dtim56

Dec 15, 2011
Visit site
Thanks for the responses guys. Yes I realised there is a data monitor built in. I was mainly using onavo for compression but happened to notice this.