Should I root my phone?

npark2012

Sep 19, 2012
Visit site
I'm a straight up newbie on rooting a phone. I'm kind of scared to brick my phone or break it somehow. Can anyone please explain the pros and cons of rooting a phone and why I should or should not?
And how easy is it to root a gsm galaxy nexus?

cporier91

Sep 3, 2010
Visit site
Rooting is for the more experience android user. But its not hard. I would YouTube a video out there to help you. I'm a visual learner and it helped me. The pros are there are a lot of fast Roms that are a lot faster than stock jellybean and way more customizable, allowing you to have superuser access. Its a personal choice if you feel comfortable enough to flash a custom recovery and ROM its up to you. You will get a better user experience IMO.

Sent from my Galaxy Nexus

npark2012

Sep 19, 2012
Visit site
What exactly is a ROM?
Rooting is for the more experience android user. But its not hard. I would YouTube a video out there to help you. I'm a visual learner and it helped me. The pros are there are a lot of fast Roms that are a lot faster than stock jellybean and way more customizable, allowing you to have superuser access. Its a personal choice if you feel comfortable enough to flash a custom recovery and ROM its up to you. You will get a better user experience IMO.

Sent from my Galaxy Nexus

sadiqsamm

Aug 24, 2012
Visit site
I was at your level two months back. Now I have unlocked, flashed recovery, rooted and tried a couple of roms. I I personally think if one is being careful he can give it a try. I mean we all have to start somewhere. Good luck.

Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using Android Central Forums

chunkcohen

May 4, 2011
Visit site
There's really not a lot of point in rooting the GSM G-Nex, IMHO, unless you really feel the urge to tweak certain things (such as overclocking the CPU) via custom ROMs and kernels. You're already getting the latest vanilla updates from Google before everyone else.