Security - Google TV transmits packets while powered off????

screen name

Aug 15, 2012
Visit site
Hello, since Sony tech support is completely useless I will ask my question here where we actually have some technically inclined people.

My question is, why when my Google TV is powered off, is it transmitting packets?

Ok, so I am an ITSEC student doing an assignment using Wireshark (packet sniffer) and it is capturing packets from my Google TV (Google TV is powered off)?
How and/or why would a device transmit packets when it is powered off? This is the 1st packet I seen,
source xxx.xxx.xxx.36, destination xxx.xxx.xxx.33 UDP

(xxx.xxx.xxx.36 is my Google TV and xxx.xxx.xxx.33 is my laptop)

Data: HTTP/1.1 200 ok..CACHE-CONTROL max-age=1800..EXT:..LOCATION: http://xxx.xxx.xxx.36:23519/Ircc.xml..server:android/3.2 UPnP/1.0 Internet TV NSX -GT1/1.0..ST: up np:rootdevice..USN: uuid:3456789 0-1234-1.............. pnp:roootdevice..X-AV-Server info AV=5.0; hn=""; cn="Sony Corporation"; mn=Internet TV NSX-GT1" ; mv="1.0"...

This is basically transmitting (while powered off) everything a cracker needs to know, WHILE POWERED OFF!!!!

So, again, how and/or why would a device transmit packets when it is powered off?

Oh and Sony's response was "because it is connected to my network."
That explains nothing about my question! I did ask "why when my Google TV is powered off, is it transmitting packets" not " how or why is Wireshark seeing packets from my Google TV."!!!! I did ask 3 different times in 3 different formats and I received the same BS answer.

Jerry Hildenbrand

Space Cowboy
Staff member
Oct 11, 2009
Visit site
The obvious answer is that your GTV isn't powered off. It's in a standby mode and is keeping the network alive, like a PC does.
My wife's Wii and our A/V receiver do the same thing.

_X_

Aug 13, 2010
Visit site
I might be no better than Sony's tech support, but I can tell you this.