Google TV stuck at boot screen.

digipaul

Feb 15, 2014
Visit site
Hi all. A friend gave me an android tv box that they assure me was working fine. I've hooked it up to the power, via usb and 5v DC, and to the tv via hdmi. All I seem to get is four penguins in the top left of the tv, flashing on and off. I have tried a hard/factory reset, but it always comes back to the penguins! I have a remote, but that seems to have no effect - I even plugged a usb keyboard in, which allows me to navigate the menu in the hard reset screen, but nothing else. I'm new to these devices - I have an Apple TV but nothing android til now. My tv box looks like this 'un: http://www.hfigl.com/uploadfile/201339239319451.jpg

Hoping someone can help. Thanks!!

B. Diddy

Senior Ambassador
Mar 9, 2012
Visit site
Re: Android tv help needed

Welcome to Android Central! I'm not familiar with Android TV boxes in general, but are you saying that you have it plugged into the TV's USB port as well? Is that really necessary? TV USB ports are usually for firmware updates or viewing JPEGs, but I'm not sure if it's necessary to connect the Android box to the TV via USB. The Android box should be able to output its audio and video signal purely via HDMI. In fact, if the USB is connected when it shouldn't be, that might be why you're only getting those penguins up there (that's a sentence I never thought I'd type:p).

zkSharks

Retired Moderator
Mar 15, 2011
Visit site

Something is preventing your device from booting up properly. Unfortunately, your device appears to be a more obscure one; the only significant references I could find used generic identifiers such as RK3188 (which is just a reference to the chipset that is inside your device). You may be able to use the device's recovery mode to restore a proper system image to boot up. I would first try B. Diddy's advice of unplugging that USB cable (and then power-cycling the device).