Welcome to the Android Central Forums Create Your Account or Ask a Question Answers in 5 minutes - no registration required!
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Like Tree5Likes
  1. Thread Author  Thread Author    #1  
    Allergic to Stupid

Global Posts
    691 Global Posts

Default Review: Bought a Sero 8

I stopped by Wally World after work yesterday and bought a new Sero 8. I played with it for a few hours last night and here are my first impressions.

Background: I have a Galaxy Note 10.1 2012 tablet, which I've had for going on 2 years. I have a Galaxy S4 phone. I've had several other Android phones, Blackberry phones, iOS devices, and other Android tablets. I have been developing software professionally since 1984 (on numerous OSes, but mostly Windows). I have rooted Android devices, Jailbroken iOS, and installed ROMs on Android and Blackberry devices over the years. I have built PCs from scratch and disassembled/reassembled laptops, tablets, and smartphones to do things like replace motherboards, CPUs, cooling fans, etc.. I have my own soldering station and I know how to use it. I would classify myself as "technical".

The purchase: The sales dude at Wally World had to scratch his head and end up rummaging around in the back for a while to find the one and only Sero 8 they had in stock. I'm pretty confident he didn't even know it existed until I asked for it and he looked it up in his store inventory. I bought the 2 year accidental damage warranty. The placard he had said it was $28. It rang up as $39. He was able to price override it back to $28, but I suspect they are in the process of a price hike, so anyone's ability to get the $28 price might be shortlived. The tablet itself was $129 (.99?).

The unboxing: It was packaged pretty much like every other tablet I've purchased. Nothing to remark on here.