So about Gingerbread...

ls377

Aug 6, 2010
Visit site
Ok, since it's finally been announced, I figured I'd be the questions and share my thoughts on Gingerbread for the Aria.

First point:The Aria hardware most likely will support Gingerbread. I'm no expert, but none of the features seems to push the hardware requirements beyond what they are now. And that 1 Ghz minimum rumor is officially debunked. So now that I have your hopes up...

I would bet a lot of money (that I don't have :)) that we will never see an official release for the Aria. It's a pretty telling sign when your phone doesn't have Froyo when the next version is released (not looking good for the Galaxy S). I would love to be wrong, but it's not likely

However, you WILL be able to get Gingerbread. It will probably first come through CyanogenMod, or some other AOSP ROM built for the Aria. I wouldn't count on a Sense version, although the Gratia could get a Gingerbread update (since it launched with Froyo) that could be flashed onto an Aria.

So, yeah. Feel free to call me an idiot or whatever, just thought I would try to avoid the mass of "will my phone get Gingerbread" threads.

Ryan Roland

Oct 20, 2010
Visit site
I think you have a good point about the realism of the Aria or Captivate getting an update but I think it has more to do with AT&T than anything. It seems like they hold up the process of updating more than HTC or andriod. I could be wrong but the backflip just got 2.1 and we stopped selling that phone 2 months prior to the update. I think AT&T is worried about the abilities it gives the phone that they want to control.

Switching subjects. I feel kinda noobish that I still dont fully understand how to Root or add a ROM to my Aria( I've been eyeballin CM6?). Im tempted but still reserved because of the forewarned risk of turning my phone into a paper weight.

Any advice since I wont be seeing Froyo or Gingerbread through AT&T anytime soon?

ls377

Aug 6, 2010
Visit site