Question about the jump from 1.5 to 2.1

trishuhh

Mar 27, 2010
Visit site
Okay, this is my first post on here thus far, and for the past two weeks or so I have been reading about how to update the Eris to 2.1 and have gotten completely confused by the 47382940235819 threads that exist, each with different tutorials, and each using different versions of the leak or whatever.

I am a total newb to the whole android/rom/leak/update process and I would like some advice.

I just want to update so that I can have my turn-by-turn navigation and less stupid bugs that joyously come with 1.5.:( But I also will probably want to get the official ota update if and when Verizon decides to quit being a turd and release it. So which process should I use?

Thank you so much all.

-Trishuhh

bcurtiss

Apr 2, 2010
Visit site
I have the same questions, I have done some searching and have yet to understand what the difference between rooted and unrooted and Roms. I am also new to this and would like as much info as possible.

jorgi

Mar 16, 2010
Visit site
I have the same questions, I have done some searching and have yet to understand what the difference between rooted and unrooted and Roms. I am also new to this and would like as much info as possible.

Hello,

A ROM, I believe, is an operating system install package similar to a disk that may allow you to install a different version of Windows or OSX. When you restart your phone while holding down a special series of buttons, the phone unzips and installs the contents of that ROM onto your phone's permanent memory. This is just like upgrading to Windows 7 from Vista. The operating system completely overwrites and replaces the original one. This process is called 'flashing.' I believe they are probably called ROMs because they 'flash' overwrite the Read Only Memory inside your phone. 'Flashing ROM' is what you do on your computer when you upgrade to a new version of BIOS.

Root vs Unrooted