Welcome to the Android Central Forums Create Your Account or Ask a Question Answers in 5 minutes - no registration required!
  1. Thread Author  Thread Author    #1  

Default Trying to Root.

I am trying to Root my Eris. This is my first time trying this and i've done everything to a "T" I was able to do it on my cousin's phone which didn't have any of the leaked versions of 2.1.

I in the other hand did i had version 1, 2 and 3 and then installed the file after it was official (manually installed it.) I can't get the my phone to updated that PBOOOM.zip (whatever is called) it says it is an older version.

Doing everything i've done... is there a way to Root my Eris at the moment?

Not if you are running a leaked version.
  3. Thread Author  Thread Author    #3  

I had the leaked version but then installed the official version.

If by the official version you mean the RUU update that people have posted, you still cannot root.

The issue is that the bootloader of the original, 1.5 release of the Eris is version 1.47. The bootloader of all of the leaks is 1.49, and the RUU update is also 1.49. If you install the 2.1 patch over the air on a phone that is running 1.5, it leaves the bootloader intact at version 1.47.

The ROM image that gives you root will not install over a bootloader that is version 1.49. There is no way to go back to the 1.47 bootloader version (that anybody has discovered), and there is not yet a way to get root for a phone running the 1.49 bootloader.

It's unfortunate, but that's the way it is.

But on the bright side since the ruu came from Verizon then you will most likely get all future updates for the phone. Seeing as they have updated the bootloader to 1.49. So I would hold out for froyo as far as I know the only device not getting it is the g1.
  6. Thread Author  Thread Author    #6  

Thanks for the info I though that the bootloader thing was what it was preventing me from doing it.