Considering Eris...A few questions

TYL3R T

Dec 7, 2009
Visit site
I am still relatively new to the smartphone 'world'. My first and only smartphone was a BlackBerry Pearl 8130 that I got roughly two years ago, the last time my contract was due for upgrade with Verizon.

I am a full time student so I love the idea of having this type of device so I can have access to the Internet, Email, Social Networking, etc. I love my BlackBerry and it has been a very good phone, but I have always felt like I haven't quite used the phone as it is intended to be used, i.e. BlackBerry to me still seems like a phone geared much more towards business, than to the consumer market and customization.

This is why I have been looking into an Android phone as my next smartphone of choice. Now that my contract is nearing renewal, I have made a few trips to the Verizon phone to get some 'hands-on' with the Motorola Droid as well as the HTC Droid Eris.

I admit that I did not give the Eris much of a chance, I knew, and had heard much more about the Droid, and that was the phone that I went to look at, at first. I liked the Droid, but when I started to test out the Eris I fell in love with the phone. As of now I truly believe that this will be my next smartphone and that I will make the jump from BB to Android! I just have a few questions that I thought I seek answers for:

1) If I get a new Eris will it already have the lasted update? If not will I have to 'wait' for it, or will it start when I activate the phone for the first time?

2) Do you think the upgrade to 2.x will be sooner, rather than later? Is the Eris still a worthwhile phone to get being on 1.5, if it is still a few months before an update to 2.x?

3) If you are against the Eris, would it be worth it to get the Droid, or wait? I have heard a nasty rumor that after a month or so the battery on the Droid 'goes bad' and completely burns up the phone, rendering it useless, outside of the 30 day return period.

o2bnclemson