[How-To] Hboot 1.5 Unlock, Install TWRP Recovery & CleanROM

speedtouch

Aug 19, 2011
Visit site
Keep in mind I am a complete newb when it comes to anything Android. This guide is for the complete newb who is unfortunate enough to have Hboot 1.5. I assume, but am not sure, that this guide can be used to install any ROM. It just happens that CleanROM is the one I chose.

Thanks to Tommymsw, I was able to use his How-To to guide my path to CleanROM. The only difference between his and mine is that he used ClockworkMod Recovery (CWM) and I used TeamWin Recovery Project (TWRP). Both recoveries do essentially the same thing, as far as I know.

Please see Tommymsw's excellent guide if you'd like to use CWM as your recovery rather than TWRP: http://forums.androidcentral.com/ht...oot-install-custom-rom-hboot-1-5-3-steps.html

Now, on to the show.

Go to HTC Dev and create an account then begin the HTC Unlock Bootloader process from the website.

******The HTC Unlock Bootloader method will wipe your phone. All your apps will be blown away, so if you have important data in them, make a backup somehow.******

Note: I run 64-bit Windows 7 and I used the 32-bit version of JDK. When you download and install Android SDK R15, it does not include fastboot.exe. HTC will have a link for you at Step 5.c.2 to get fastboot.exe. (That really tripped me up until I read HTC's fine print.)

Your phone will reboot after the HTC Bootloader unlock is complete. After a while of booting and loading your phone will take you to the initial setup of Android. Just skip everything, unless you want to configure it for some reason. (No need to since you're going to wipe it all in a moment anyway.)

Connect the USB cable if not already connected. Put the phone into USB Drive mode. We're going to place two files onto the USB drive. Copy the CleanROM Zip file to the EVO 3D's USB drive.