Flash a ROM vs Installing a launcher

jean15paul

Trusted Member
Jun 17, 2011
Visit site
I got my first Android phone, the Evo 3D, in July, so I'm relatively new to Android. I've been getting bored and kinda frustrated with Sense, so I've been considering rooting and flashing a ROM. I haven't made time to research all the ROM options out there, but I have a (un)healthy infatuation with stock ICS, so I've been thinking of searching for a good ROM based on 4.0.

Yesterday, on a whim, I installed a launcher for the first time (FTL Launcher free), and I'm impressed with the features that a launcher can provide. Which brings me to my question...

If a launcher can customize my phone and provide me with new features than why would I root and flash a ROM. I'm sorry if this is a really dumb question (like I said, I'm a noob), but seriously what are the differences/benefits of rooting over just using a launcher?

(I guess I'm looking for someone to sell me on rooting/flashing, because now I'm leaning toward not doing it.)

Last edited:

newboyx

Aug 3, 2010
Visit site
As you discovered changing launchers can change the look of your phone dramatically without much effort. For most people this is enough. But remember Sense is still running in the background right now on your phone. As far as processing power is concerned you are running 2 launchers at the same time. The 3D is more than capable of handling this. If you switch back to the default launcher you will notice all of your widgets are still updating even though you can't see them. If you are happy with how your phone performs right now, keep it that way. I am a huge fan of rooting and flashing custom ROMs, but you seem to be content with what you have. Keep it that way. If you ever change your mind we will be more than happy to help.

Reactions: jean15paul

pergerson6

Feb 7, 2011
Visit site