Rooting for the first time. What data will I loose when I wipe?

jean15paul

Trusted Member
Jun 17, 2011
Visit site
I'm considering rooting my phone (Evo 3D) for the first time. I'm completely new to rooting, but I've been reading up and I think I'm ready. But I do have a question first. Please help out a noob.

From what I understand, I can't do a backup until I'm rooted, but rooting will wipe everything. So I'm going to loose everything on my phone's internal storage when I do it. (Am I correct?) So what (if any) stuff should I stress about losing? What do you worry about loosing when you wipe?

My initial (noob) thoughts:
  • Contacts: Backed up to google's cloud
  • Apps: Play Store and Amazone AppStore save all downloads. I'll have to back up apk's that I sideloaded myself
  • App settings and data: I don't know of a way to avoid losing this and starting from scratch. Is there? (this is probably what I'm most worried about)
  • Pictures and Video: should all be on SD card
  • Calendar: in the cloud
  • Emails: in the cloud
  • SMS messages: I don't know of a way to avoid losing this and starting from scratch. Is there?
    [*]Voicemails: I think these can be backed up to sd card, right? But if I flash a ROM that doesn't have Sprint's voicemail app how do I get voicemail?
    [*]Bookmarks: Is there a way to backup bookmarks? It's not many, I guess I can manaually recreate.
    [*]Call history: Is there a way to back it up? (Do I really care?)

Anything else I'm forgetting?

LifesGoodPhoenix

Sep 15, 2011
Visit site
Re: Rooting for the first time. What data will I loose when I wip

maybe im not understanding this, or maybe its different on your phone.
i am rooted on my LG phoenix, have flashed roms and the sort.
rooting didnt wipe anything nor did i loose anyting when i rooted my phone.
enlighten me please.

jean15paul

Trusted Member
Jun 17, 2011
Visit site
Re: Rooting for the first time. What data will I loose when I wip