Why does the iPhone get such better battery life?

kennedy27403

Jul 3, 2011
Visit site
I'm new to Android specifically and smartphones in general, but why does the iPhone seem to get such better battery life? Compared with a coworker (iPhone user) today, and after maybe 8 hours or so I was at maybe 30% and he was at 70%. Roughly the same usage, he may have used his more. I'm still tweaking settings, so no doubt that's a factor, but I've seen people say that the iP isn't doing as much or that the Android uses more power because it's a more complicated and better machine. What does this mean? What is the Android doing so significantly better than the iP that accounts for such a drastic difference in battery life?

Starfleet Captain

Aug 3, 2010
Visit site
Well there are several reasons for this. The iPhone does not do "true" Multitasking like Android does. Multitasking in the background does creat a slow leak. Then there are the other reasons such as the iPhone having an under-clocked CPU, no 4G whatsoever, and better display technology that does not use as much power. Also, the apps behave themselves much better. There aren't any widgets running in the background and no apps updating themselves in the background.Also Apple has a super huge battery built in the iPhone 4. My girlfriends, LG Lotus phone has better battery life than my Evo 3D. The fact of the matter is that battery technology is not developing at the same pace as mobile technology. So, the more powerful your mobile device, the less battery life you get if the size of the battery is not increased to compensate for the power.

Jerzyiroc

May 19, 2010
Visit site