Sprint Evo htc tethering questions

SuzanW

Mar 12, 2012
Visit site
Hello. I'm a newbie and I freely admit to being a techie illiterate! I've spent the last 5 days trying get my android and lap top tethered, so please excuse any newbie faux pas that I might commit here.

My husband and I are full time RVers and are traveling the country for a while. We have been using "Tether" for internet access since November 2011. It works great on his Blackberry/laptop and has been OK, but not great on my Android/laptop. It would sporadically loose the connection maybe every couple days or so. Something changed last week and now I can't get a connection at all. We've uninstalled and reinstalled "Tether" on my phone and lap top many times, but it still won't work. Friday I got the paid version of "EasyTether" from Amazon, but I can't get a connection with it either.

This morning I saw a post which said that yesterday (March 11th) Sprint introduced a new "3G/4G plug-in-connection USB connetion" for Android. So, here are my questions.

1) Does anyone know if Sprint has blocked all ablilty to tether, even if you download a tether app not supported by Sprint?

2) Does Sprint have the ablility to check my apps and see if I have downloaded EasyTether, Tether, or any other app that they don't support?
(I've seen threads to other sites that say Sprint can/may drop us if they find out we are using an unauthorized tether app. I'm a little nervous about this since Sprint is the only company we've found that has an unlimited data option.)

Since we are on a fixed budget now, I really hate to add an extra $49.99 to our monthly bill unless we absolutely have to.

Thanks for your help saving my sanity.

benny3

Flashoholic!!
Sep 2, 2011
Visit site